How are the buybacks triggered?

Is it done automatically or manually? If it is done manually who makes the decision?

automatically via a keeper. in order for any smart contract to execute an outside source needs to trigger it. that’s how smartcontracts behaves.

Thanks. What is a keeper? What are the criteria that the keeper uses? How can one predict when the next buyback will occur?

A keeper is a concept in smart contract dev, worth reading about if you are interested in the tech.
The all idea is that no one will be able to predict it to avoid gamification.

I see. I thought the buybacks were weekly. I can understand why some randomness is desirable, but there has been no buyback for a few weeks now. I wouldn’t have thought there would be that degree of randomness built into the code. It’s not the case that someone has manually stopped the buybacks, right?

They are indeed supposed to be weekly, there is a fix to be applied and then they will resume. i’m not a developer so take it with a grain of sult, but smart contracts does not have randomness in them ( anyone can calculate it and manipulate it), it mean that they have stop being triggered at the moment but all the yields are still accumalating on the collector and treasury contracts.

1 Like

Initially, anyone could trigger buybacks. “The team” then pushed code that prevented that from happening. They did that without consulting anyone. They stop and start buybacks without consultation and without notice. What is to to stop them from buying immediately prior to restarting the buybacks? The last time they did this there were several months worth of buybacks held back.

This is yet another example of the contempt in which this project hold the investors.